Scroll Top

Dark Horse Comics and Bethesda to Publish “The Art of Prey”

The Art of Prey
The Art of Prey

Comic book publisher Dark Horse Comics, in collaboration with award-winning video game publisher Bethesda Softworks, have announced the released of an “Art Book” featuring the world of Prey.

The over sized hardcover book will feature concept art, development “work in progress” artwork and designs for Talos I, the space ship featured in the first-person-shooter / RPG world and Morgan Yu, the character players will follow through the video game’s world.

The video game Prey is scheduled for world-wide release on May 5th 2017 for PlayStation 4, Personal Computer and X-Box One.  The book will be available in the next month, June (June 27th to be exact) and will be sold at national retailers such as Barnes and Noble. In fact, the book is already available for pre-order here: BARNES & NOBLE .  It is also read to pre order at this Amazon link: Pre Order Art of Prey at Amazon.Com.


The Prey franchise has a long history spanning over two decades. Most of that history is dealing with development and launch-attempts and delays that required software and game mechanics updates as platform technology continued to drive forward ever-faster from those early mid-1990s days, a full decade before gamers were able to immerse themselves in Tommy’s world.

The critically acclaimed 2006 game Prey, that finally launched courtesy of Human Head Studios was a successful launch and a sequel, Prey 2, was immediately in the works however it never came to light. Eventually, the IP transferred to Bethesda Softworks and led to the development and ultimate product launch for this new game and the collaborative hardcover book with Dark Horse Comics.

About Dark Horse Comics is a comic book publisher that first opened its doors in 1986 and has gone on to publisher countless titles from some of the best artists and writers in the industry. DHC has also published works based on beloved franchises like Star Wars, The Terminator, Aliens, Planet of the Apes and Buffy The Vampire Slayer. Their books have spawned countless television shows and feature films such as Hellboy, Sin City, Tank Girl, Barbwire, B.P.R.D., Time Cop and Dark Matter.

About Bethesda Softworks is world renown for their work on games like Fallout and Elder Scrolls. Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion won “Game of the Year” in 2006. Fallout 3 won “Game of the Year” in 2008. Elder Scrolls V: Oblivion also won “Game of the Year” for 2011 with Fallout 4 winning “GOTY” in 2015.
Art of Prey


Dark Horse and Bethesda Softworks® are proud to present The Art of Prey®, the newest video game art book in the collaborators’ line of award-winning titles.

The Art of Prey is an exquisite and comprehensive collection featuring hundreds of pieces of gorgeous art showcasing the signature world building, attention to detail and unique take on futuristic design from the development of Prey.

Set to release worldwide on Friday, May 5, 2017 for the Xbox One, PlayStation® 4 computer entertainment system and PC, Prey is the highly-anticipated first-person sci-fi action game from Arkane® Studios – creators of the award-winning Dishonored® series which includes the 2012 ‘Game of the Year’ and the critically-acclaimed follow-up, Dishonored® 2.
When you awaken aboard Talos I, an immense space station orbiting the moon in the year 2032, you find yourself as the key subject of an experiment meant to alter humanity forever – but things have gone terribly wrong. The space station has been overrun by hostile aliens and you are now being hunted. As you dig into the dark secrets of Talos I and your own past, you must survive using the tools found on the station, your wits, weapons, and mind-bending abilities to defeat the Typhon alien threat. For more information about the game please visit
The Art of Prey will be available June 27, 2017. Pre-order your copy at your local comic shop or through retailers such as Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and IndieBound.

Related Posts