Scroll Top

DC launches 8 new miniseries in 2016


Perhaps the greatest thing about the “DC You” initiative has nothing to do with the new character designs, origins, and devil-may-care attitude of writers toward the classics and continuity restraints.  It’s my humble opinion that the greatest thing about this line is its distancing from the “New 52” line and publishing comics for the sake of publishing them and having fun along the way.  No more mandatory number of ongoing series.  And, most importantly, allowing for announced (not just “understood”) miniseries.  Bat-Mite.  Bizarro.  Prez.  Harley Quinn/Power Girl.  You know the titles.

So it should come as no surprise that DC is listening to its fans and giving us more of what we want.  Miniseries!  In 2016, there will be eight new 6-issue minis that should pique several readers’, both new and old alike, interests.  Some returning creators, some new talents, and even a few surprises along the way.  Here they are:

Swamp Thing by Len Wein

Katana: Cult of the Kobra by Mike W. Barr

Metal Men by Len Wein

Sugar & Spike by Keith Giffen

Firestorm by Gerry Conway

Metamorpho by Aaron Lopresti

Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life & Death by Amy Chu

Raven by Marv Wolfman

Metamorpho and Poison Ivy

So there you have it.  Which ones are you adding to your pull and hold list?  And which ones will you be passing on early in 2016?  Let us know in the comments section below.

Related Posts